Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:18PM - 316 Views
Times Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Voters can expect to make quite a few choices when they head to election booths next week, with a full range of races including local, state and federal races.

Election officials are expecting a busy day, with Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes predicting total voter turnout between 62 and 64 percent. She said the number of voters requesting absentee ballots indicates that interest in this year’s election is on pace to match the 2008 race.

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m., Tuesday, although anyone still in line at 6 p.m. will be allowed to vote.

At the top of the ballot is the race for president, which sees embattled President Barack Obama facing a strong challenge from Republican nominee Mitt Romney. Also in the race are Green Party candidate Jill Stein, independent Randall A. Terry and Libertarian candidate Gary Johnson.

Floyd County voters will also cast votes in the Fifth District congressional race, with 16-term Rep. Hal Rogers expected to easily handle a challenge from Manchester Democrat Kenneth Stepp.

Most state legislative races appearing before Floyd voters were already decided before they began, with House Speaker Greg Stumbo and state Sen. Johnny Ray Turner both running unopposed in their re-election bids. Voters in three northern Floyd County precincts will be asked to choose in the race for 97th District state representative, between Rep. Hubert Collins and Republican challenger Bobby McCool.

The one state race all Floyd County voters will vote in is the 7th District Supreme Court race between Justice Will T. Scott and former Justice Janet Stumbo. The race is a rematch between of a race between the two from 2004, when Scott narrowly unseated Stumbo.

At the local level, several races are noncompetitive, with Commonwealth’s Attorney Brent Turner, Circuit Clerk Douglas Ray Hall and District Judge Jimmy “Blue” Marcum all running unopposed.

School board members up for re-election will run unopposed, after the final tally was taken for the upcoming slate of elections in Floyd County this November.

Jeff Stumbo, serving school board District 3, Rhonda Turner Meade, serving school board District 4, and Sherry Sue Dingus Robinson, representative for school board District 5, will all run unopposed in this year’s school board elections. School board races are run on alternating years. Elections for school board districts 1and 2 will held in 2014.

The race for the four seats of Wayland City commissioners will also be uncontested, having only Kathy Mills, Angela MacElhose, Terri Dalton Howell and Linda Castle Spurlock running.

In Prestonsburg, the city council race will feature all of the current council members, as well seven new faces who have entered the mix. Timothy C. Cooley, Bob Carpenter Sr., David A. Gearheart, Timothy Lee Vandine, Don Willis, Harry A. Adams, Carolyn Ford, Freddy Goble, Benji Ferguson, Adam Williamson, Cliff Latta III, Lloyd “Les” Stapleton, Roy Roberts and B.D. Nunnery will all be on the ballot this November.

The Allen City commission race will feature five contestants for its four city commission seats in Pauline T. Bentley, Deborah Porter Lumpkin, Jessica Woods Crumpler, Clyde Woods and Elmer “Fudd” Parsons.

With 10 candidates filing for office, the four Wheelwright city commission seats will also be hotly contested this year. Those seeking to hold one of the commissioner’s chairs are Rodney Hall, Sam Little, Lucille Gayheart Tackett, Bobby Wayne Akers, Raymond C. Ferrell, Vernon Smallwood, Don “Booty” Hall, Joe Stewart, David M. Samons and W. Russell “Bouchie” Hall.

In Martin, Mayor Thomasine Robinson will have competition in the form of Sam Howell. Eight have signed up to run for Martin’s six city council positions. Shanna Dawn Howel, Judy Stumbo, Mahendra Varia, April Gayheart, Eulene H. Ratliff, Bobby Sherman Dingus, Charles E. Justice and James “Jim” Reynolds are seeking seats on the Martin City Council.

The Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor will feature Lenville Martin, Thomas Hardwick, Ernie Tackett and Jim Carter II have signed up to run for the office.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com