Last updated: August 04. 2013 6:25AM - 1900 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

LEWISBURG – Two Class of 2016 medical students, Joshua Jewell of Logan County and Elizabeth Endicott of Mingo County, were the inaugural award recipients of the Dr. William B. Mullen & Jennifer White Scholarship presented by the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine at their Spring Awards Ceremony.

The scholarship was established in 2012 by Gary White, President of International Resources, LLC of Logan County, and Mr. Buck Harless of Mingo County in memory of White’s daughter, Jennifer, who passed away in December 2011 and to honor the physician who treated her in the last decade of her life, Dr. William B. Mullen, a 1990 graduate of WVSOM.

The scholarship recognizes the academic achievement of students from Logan and Mingo counties.

“I am proud to come from Logan County and I am honored to have received this scholarship,” Jewell said. “I will endeavor as a physician to provide the same quality of care that inspired the Whites to create the scholarship.”

Endicott said that she was excited to receive the recognition.

“The Whites and Mr. Harless are very kind people who have selflessly given back to their community for a long time, so I am honored that they chose me to be one of the recipients of the award. It always feels good to know I have support and encouragement from people back home during my experience at WVSOM,” she said.

The Dr. William B. Mullen & Jennifer White Scholarship is not only a financial award but also a poignant reminder of the profound impact a physician can have on a patient and, by extension, an entire family and community.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com