Last updated: July 18. 2013 1:27PM - 220 Views
Martha Sparks
Society Editor

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Logan Regional Medical Center Auxiliary, an affiliate of Auxiliary of West Virginia Hospital Association (AWVHA) inducted their newly elected officers for the July 1, 2012 -June 30, 2014 term on June 30, 2012. The meeting was held at the St Francis Catholic Church in Logan and was conducted by the current president Gay Cook.

The invocation was presented by Auxilian Cecil Willis followed by a lunch catered by Granny Jack’s Restaurant of Omar.

Officers elected and sworn in for the 2012-2014 term were: President, Beverly Roark; 1st Vice President, Betty Lambert; 2nd Vice President, Norma Miller; Secretary, Janice Barker; Treasurer, Midge Cox, and Co-Treasurer, Nora Bailey. The new officers were sworn in by Cook, who presented each officer with a rose as a symbol of their pledge.

Five scholarships for one year of tuition and $500 toward the purchase of books and supplies in the LPN Program at Ralph R Willis Vocational School and SWVCC were awarded to Shannon Grimmett, Josephine Farley, Adam Curry, Kayla Baisden and Jessica Workman.

A new scholarship was added this year in honor of Radine Queen, who was a founder and the first elected president of the Auxiliary in 1971. A full scholarship in the Paramedic Program, called the Radine Queen Paramedic Scholarship, was awarded to Amber Ball. Linda Akers, daughter of Radine, presented the award to the recipient. A plaque honoring Radine was presented to the family and a duplicate will be displayed in the Chapel at the Logan Regional Medical Center.

Auxilian of the Month Certificates were presented to Lettie Brescoach for June and Mary Casey for July. Life membership certificates were presented to Karen Dingess, Karen Manning and Wade McKinney.

Members who celebrated birthdays in July, August and September were: Maceline Smith, Nancy Garrett, Doris Jarrell, Juanita Clay, Nora Bailey, Mary Beth Ferrell, Lotus Martin, Larry Roark, Gladys Vance, Mary Casey, Edna Napier, Norma Miller Pauline Fortune and Pat Turner.

Members attending the function were Gay Cook, Beverly Roark, Cecil and Nora Willis, Betty Toney, Nora Bailey, Larry Roark, Wade McKinney, Janice Barker, Lettie Brescoach, Betty Lambert, Gladys Vance, Mary Casey, Dale Whitt, Jane Watkins, Norma Miller, Midge Cox, Alice Cheek, Ruth Copley, Margaret Shriver, Effie White, Geraldine Smith, Edna Napier, Lillian Clegg, Mary Beth Ferrell, special guest and Chief Operating Officer of LRMC Tim Harclerode, Linda Akers, Amber Ball, Shannon Grimmett, Adam Curry, Sara Curry, Josephine Farley, Allen Farley and Tiffany Machner.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com