Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:12PM - 90 Views
Times Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - The Morehead State University Cross Country teams both finished ahead of Southeastern Conference and Ohio Valley Conference schools at the Vanderbilt Commodore Classic Saturday at Percy Warner Park.

The Eagle men, led by a top 20 finish by junior Zachariah Elliott in the 8K race, came in eighth among 24 teams. The Eagles’ team score bettered SEC foes Alabama, Vanderbilt and LSU. MSU also finished ahead of OVC rivals Belmont, Jacksonville State, Tennessee Tech, Murray State, UT Martin and Tennessee State.

MSU’s women’s squad topped Jacksonville State, Tennessee Tech, UT Martin and Tennessee State in the 6K race.

Elliott crossed the finish line in 25:08.47, good enough for 17th among the 196 entries. Freshman Jesse Moreno was next with a 36th-place time of 25:40.00. The Eagles had two more runners finish among the top 75. Junior Chase Ratliff recorded a 26:06.05, while sophomore Gary Monroe crossed the tape in 26:18.97.

Sophomore Desmond Bell (26:56.00), freshmen Evan Childers (27:06.74), Joe Kirtner (27:35.67), Alex White (28:13.16) and Wes Morris (29:07.33) sophomore Andy Bailey (28:57.99) also ran for MSU.

The women’s team was paced by senior Anya Martinez in 69th place with a 23:05.19 official clocking. Senior Holly Mandzak was next with a 23:34.98. Classmate Natalie Norman was just seconds behind, coming across at 23:46.30.

MSU’s next four racers all finished within four seconds of each other. Freshman Lauren Tarovisky (24:22.66), sophomore Krystal Williams (24:23.96), freshman Erica Parks (24:27.66) and senior Kate Bomar (24:28.58) made up the middle of MSU’s contingent.

Junior Parker Winters (24:46.60), freshmen Alex Morris (25:05.30) and Jasmyn Andrews (25:34.01) and sophomore Lindsay Marcum (26:24.10) also competed for the Eagles.

Both MSU Cross Country teams are set to compete at the Greater Louisville Classic on Sept. 29.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com