Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:12PM - 229 Views
Ralph B. Davis
Managing Editor

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

FRANKFORT — Two Floyd County teachers are among 24 statewide — and only six in Eastern Kentucky — named as recipients of this year’s Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards.

Amanda Lee, who teaches at May Valley Elementary, and Tammy Meade, of Betsy Layne Elementary, were the two local teachers named as recipients.

For the distinction, all 24 named as recipients will receive cash awards and certificates during an Oct. 17 awards ceremony at the state Capitol. Representatives of the Kentucky Department of Education, the Governor’s Office and Ashland’s Chairman and CEO Jim O’Brien will be present to honor the teachers.

Winners of the awards are also in the running for teacher of the year awards at the elementary, middle and high school levels, depending on what grade they teach. From the final three who are named elementary, middle and high school teachers of the year, one teacher will be named Kentucky Teacher of the Year.

Other Eastern Kentucky teachers making the grade include:

• Joyce Ellen Bowling, of Manchester Elementary, in Clay County.

• Kristal Doolin, of Corbin Middle School, in the Corbin Independent School System.

• Randy Barrette, of Menifee County High School.

• Michael W. Kash, of Rowan County Middle School.

Ashland has recognized outstanding Kentucky teachers with its Teacher Achievement Awards since 1988. Approximately $658,000 has been awarded to more than 425 teachers of grades K to 12.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com