Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:13PM - 596 Views
Ralph B. Davis
Managing Editor

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

LOUISVILLE — Sheriff John K Blackburn has been elected president of the Kentucky Sheriffs’ Association.

Blackburn assumed his new position during group’s annual conference last week. He was administered the oath of office by House Speaker Greg Stumbo.

Blackburn said he was honored to be chosen and he feels his tenure will help bring prominence to Floyd County.

“It’s a very big honor to have a sheriff from Floyd County to be president of the Kentucky Sheriffs’ Assocation,” Blackburn said.

In addition to Blackburn’s election as president, Carroll County Sheriff Jamie Kinman and Muhlenberg County Sheriff Curtis McGehee were named 2012 Co-Sheriffs of the Year.

“It is both an honor and a privilege to work the the Kentucky Sheriffs’ Association,” said Jerry Wagner, executive director of the group. “The KSA strives to better the office of sheriff by keeping sheriffs abreast of what is going on in the law enforcement community with ongoing training and legislation, which helps in serving Kentucky’s citizens.”

Last year, Blackburn was first vice president of the organization. He has served on its board of directors for 11 years.

Blackburn said the group’s service to local communities is exemplified in the KSA motto: “No sheriff stands alone.”

“When the tornadoes hit, we had sheriffs from all over the state going to Menifee, Morgan and Magoffing counties to help out,” Blackburn said.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com