Last updated: July 17. 2013 5:58PM - 268 Views
Fred Pace

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

CHARLESTON — Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin announced this week that 16 additional counties, including Boone County, will receive Individual Assistance as part of the federal disaster declaration granted in July. Last week, Gov. Tomblin requested FEMA amend the previously issued federal declaration to include individual assistance to help West Virginians recover from the June 29th storm.

“I’m happy West Virginians will soon be getting the help they need to recover from the destructive summer storm,” Gov. Tomblin said. “I’m grateful FEMA amended the declaration— these federal funds will provide much needed help to West Virginians families and businesses in 16 additional counties. This assistance will go a long way in helping folks in these areas get back on their feet.”

“We encourage anyone who was affected by the June 29 through July 8 storms to register online with FEMA at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by phone at 800-621-3362 (800-621-FEMA), said Dolph Diemont, FEMA’s Federal Coordinating Officer.

“We hope that every person in these additional counties who had losses in this disaster will contact FEMA before the application deadline of November 19,” said Jimmy Gianato, West Virginia’s State Coordinating Officer. “No one who qualifies for help should be left out because of a missed deadline.”

Eligible homeowners and renters may receive funds for home repair, rental assistance, repair or replacement of uninsured personal property, and disaster-related medical, dental and funeral expenses. Other disaster related expenses and serious needs may also be considered.

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover both residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Individuals and businesses in Boone, Cabell, Clay, Greenbrier, Jackson, Lincoln, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Pocahontas, Roane, Tyler, Webster and Wood counties are now eligible for individual assistance from FEMA.

Last month, FEMA granted individual assistance in Fayette, Kanawha, Nicholas, and Raleigh counties after the governor made an appeal. This week’s announcement brings the total number of counties receiving individual assistance to 20.

West Virginians needing assistance in these counties are encouraged to register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA or visiting www.FEMA.gov. The deadline to apply for assistance is November 19, 2012.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com