Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:18PM - 186 Views
Times Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

MOREHEAD - Three former Eagles were formally inducted into the Morehead State University Athletic Hall of Fame at a banquet on Friday night. The 2012 class includes golf standout Wes Martin, All-Ohio Valley Conference football tackle Ernie DeCourley and baseball record-holder Charlie Adkins.

The group was recognized on Saturday during Morehead State’s Homecoming football game against Pioneer Football League foe Campbell.

“The Athletic Hall of Fame is the highest individual accolade our department can award,” Director of Athletics Brian Hutchinson said. “It’s a pleasure to welcome these accomplished individuals to the prestigious list. In addition to being regarded among the elite individuals of their time, these three inductees were also members of OVC championship programs.”

Martin was a member of MSU’s first OVC golf championship team in 1973. He fired a 212 at the league tournament that year and finished as the runner-up only to teammate and fellow Athletic Hall of Famer Eddie Mudd. He was named All-OVC in 1972 and 1973. Playing for Head Coach Ed Bignon, Martin and his teammates never lost a dual meet, and the Eagles won the 1972 Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference crown.

Originally from Winchester, Martin went on to a professional career. He played in a number of Web.com Tour events where he posted two top-25 finishes. Martin’s brother Wayne is a former head men’s basketball coach at MSU and a member of the Hall of Fame. His son Brad is currently a sophomore on the MSU golf team.

DeCourley ranked among the OVC’s top linemen during his two-year MSU career. A transfer from Northwest Mississippi Junior College, DeCourley was the team’s tallest lineman at 6-foot-5. Lining up as both an offensive and defensive tackle, he was named All-OVC in 1961 and 1962. He culminated his collegiate career by guiding the Eagles to an OVC co-championship while earning OVC Defensive Lineman of the Year.

A native of Savannah, Tenn., DeCourley was selected in the seventh round of the 1963 National Football League Draft by the San Francisco 49ers. He later settled in Ironton, Ohio and passed away on June 2, 2006.

Adkins, a four-year letterwinner for Head Coach Rex Chaney, recorded a 1.48 ERA in 1964, an MSU record that still stands today. He posted a 12-8 career record and led the Eagles with 55 strikeouts in 1965. He helped MSU win the 1963 and 1964 OVC East Division titles.

A native of Paintsville, Adkins went on to an illustrious 34-year career as his hometown’s head high school baseball coach. Adkins totaled 805 victories and led the Tigers to the state title in 1990. He retired from coaching in 2005 and passed away on April 21, 2010.

Established in 1985, the Athletic Hall of Fame honors former Eagles whose achievements in athletics and as ambassadors of the university have had a profound impact on Morehead State. The Hall of Fame has enshrined 125 members.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com