Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:19PM - 469 Views
Ralph B. Davis
Managing Editor

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Local government races saw some old faces return and some new faces emerge, but the biggest surprise of the night was a change at the top of Martin city government.

Incumbent Thomasine Robinson was narrowly edged out by challenger Sam Howell in the Martin mayor’s race by a five-vote margin, 161 to 151.

Robinson immediately requested a recount at the county clerk’s office Tuesday night, even as the last precinct results were walking in the door. The recount will take place Thursday.

“Absentees were counted by machine,” said County Clerk Chris Waugh. “We will count them again by hand and we will check the machines to see if there were any errors in the count.”

On the Martin City Council, Eulene Ratliff picked up 189 votes, April Gayheart won 187, Mahendra Varia received 183,Bobby Dingus received 174, Charles Justice received 161 and James Reynolds received 148 to earn spots on the council. Those not making the cut were Judy Stumbo with 145 votes and Shanna Howell with 135.

In Prestonsburg, 7-of-8 incumbents on the city council were returned, with only Bob Carpenter Sr. not making the cut. Taking his place will be Lloyd “Les” Stapleton, who polled fourth with 836 votes. Freddie “Munroe” Goble led the pack with 943 votes, followed by David Gearheart, with 890, Don Willis, with 888, Stapleton, B.D. Nunnery, with 822, Harry Adams, with 708, and Roy Roberts and Tim Colley, each with 663 votes.

Bob Carpenter Sr. polled ninth of the 14 candidates, with 593 votes, followed by Carolyn Ford, with 522, Adam Williamson, with 419, Cliff Latta III, with 367, Tim VanDine, with 281, and Benji Ferguson, with 198.

The other city race with a crowded field was in Wheelwright, where 10 candidates were vying for four spots. Vernon Smallwood led the way in that race, with 173 votes, followed closely by Don “Booty” Hall, with 172 votes. Joining them on the city commission will be Joe Stewart, with 164 votes, and Bobby Akers, with 141.

Other results in the race were Raymond Ferrell, with 129 votes, Lucille Tackett, with 99, Rodney Hall, with 95, Russell “Boochie” Hall, with 94, David Sammons, with 89, and Sam Little, with 75.

On the Allen City Commission, Elmer “Fudd” Parsons and Clyde Woods led the way, with 41 votes each, and will be joined by Pauline Bentley, with 40, and Jessica Woods Crumpler, with 29. Deborah Lumpkins polled a distant 24.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com