Last updated: July 18. 2013 1:39PM - 269 Views
Martha Sparks
Society Editor

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Associated Press declared Democrat Earl Ray Tomblin the winner over Republican Bill Maloney in the West Virginia Gubernatorial race at 10:41 p.m. Tuesday night.

Others declared winners were Democrat Joe Manchin III over Republican John Raese for U.S. Senate; Democrat Nick Rahall over Rick Snuffer for U.S. House District 3 and Democrate John Perdue over Republican Mike Hall for W.Va. Treasurer.

Despite good weather in Logan County, voter turnout for the General Election held Tuesday, November 6, was only 48.35 percent of the registered voters.

Of the 12,385 votes cast, 1,849 voted a straight Democratic Party ticket and 990 voted a straight Republican Party ticket. GOP candidate Mitt Romney received the most votes in the county for president, as did Democrat and native Earl Ray Tomblin for Governor of West Virginia.

Unofficial totals for the General Election in Logan County was:


Mitt Romney GOP — 8,186

Barack Obama Dem — 3,461

Jill Stein Mnt — 77

Gary Johnson Lib — 85

Randall Terry NPA — 92

U.S. Senate

John Raese GOP — 2,754

Joe Manchin Dem — 8,614

Bob Baber Mnt — 169

U.S. House District 3

Rick Snuffer GOP — 3,707

Nick Rahall Dem — 7,399


Bill Maloney GOP — 2,380

Earl Ray Tomblin Dem — 9,450

Jesse Johnson Mnt — 89

David Moran Lib — 64

Supreme Court

Allen Loughry GOP — 3,489

John Yoder GOP — 2,524

Letitia Chafin Dem — 5,725

Robin Davis Dem — 5,970

Secretary of State

Brian Savilla GOP — 2,569

Natalie Tennant Dem — 8,290


Larry Faircloth GOP — 2,840

Glen Gainer Dem — 7,356

Agriculture Commissioner

Kent Leonhardt GOP — 3,435

Walt Helmick Dem — 6,377

Attorney General

Patrick Morrisey GOP — 3,968

Darrell McGraw Dem — 7,166


Mike Hall GOP — 3,111

John Perdue Dem — 7,659

House of Delegates District 20

Mike Baisden GOP — 198

Justin Marcum Dem — 426

House of Delegates District 22

Gary Johngrass GOP — 200

Michel Moffatt GOP — 265

Jeff Eldridge Dem — 798

Josh Stowers Dem — 683

Amendment 1 Repeal Term Limits Sheriff - Ballot Issue

For — 4,603

Against — 4,268

Those who were unopposed in the General Election were Danny Godby for County Commission; John W. Bennett for Prosecuting Attorney; Sonya M. Dingess Porter for Sheriff; Rick Russell Grimmett for Assessor; Dwight Aaron Williamson, Jeffrey S. Lane and Leonard L. Codispotti for Magistrate; House of Delegates 24th Delgate District Teddy “Ted” Tomblin and Rupert “Rupie” Phillips Jr.

Canvass of the General Election votes will be held Tuesday, November 13.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com