Last updated: July 18. 2013 1:39PM - 410 Views
Paul Adkins
Sports Editor

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

It will be a special Toughman event this weekend in Logan as the 25th-annual Coal Area Toughman contest will be staged on Friday and Saturday nights at Logan’s Willie Akers Arena.

Action begins on Friday night with preliminary bouts.

Bell time is set for 7:30 p.m.

Then on Saturday, also at 7:30 p.m., it will be championship night as area boxing fans will find out who are the toughest men and women in the coalfields.

The highlight of this year’s Toughman are a pair of professional bouts.

On Friday, Jason Smith (5-1, 3 KO’s) of Logan will fight a four-round bout against James Denson of Akron, Ohio. Then on Saturday, Nov. 10, “The Fighting Coalminer” Daniel Hensley (6-0) of Chapmanville will fight a four-round bout versus Oreon Bolds. Both Smith and Hensley are former Toughman Champions and fan favorites. Both bouts are in the light heavyweight class.

Hensley came out of retirement last June and won a four-round unanimous decision over Ohio native Gonzales Jones in a boxing card which was held at Logan. It was the first pro fight for Hensley in 12 years.

Smith’s opponent Denson has a win over Ryan Britton, who fought and lost to Verdunville pro Jordan Moore at last year’s Logan Toughman.

Toughman promoter Jerry Thomas said more than 80 have signed up for this year’s event.

“It’s looking like it’s going to be another great event,” Thomas said. “It’s hard to believe that it’s been that many years. Believe it or not, it’s the beginning of our 34th season. We had an event last week in Lewisburg at the State Fair Grounds and it went real well. That’s one of our newer events. That one we’ve only had for 14 years. The Logan event will be our second event of the season and will be the first of 10. The Toughman tour invades Logan this weekend.”

Tickets are now on sale and can be purchased at Mike Ferrell Toyota-Scion, Town N’ Country Foodland, LA Liquor & Lottery and at Uncle Sam’s in Man. To charge tickets by phone call 1-800-296-3897 or buy online at wvtoughman.com

The event has been sanctioned and will be supervised by the West Virginia State Athletic Commission.

In addition, Top’s Dinner Club of Logan will once again host the annual competition to select the official ring girls for the Toughman.

The Ring Girl Contest finals are slated to be held at Top’s on Wednesday, Nov. 7.

A total of $1,600 in cash plus various other prizes will be awarded to the four ring girl winners with “Miss Ring Girl” taking home $1,000 in cash, the title and a Miss Ring Girl Toughman jacket.

Any area lady, age 18 or older, may enter online at: www.wvtoughman.com or contestants may also fill out an entry form in person at Top’s.

Miss Ring Girl will be chosen by audience applause on the second night of the Toughman.

The prize money for the boxers will be around $12,000.

More than 80 area men and women have signed up to box this weekend in the amateur event.

The Toughman is an amateur boxing contest open to area men and women ages 18-35 with little or no boxing experience.

So far, a total of 29 area men have signed up for the men’s heavyweight division (185-400 pounds). Those are: David Barton of Paintsville, Ky.; Adam “The Beast” Bates of St. Albans; Michael Beagle of Chapmanville; Joshua Black of West Hamlin; Matthew “Demon” Cain of Lorado; Josh Carter of Gilbert; Cody Carver of Dry Branch; Austin “Tarzan” Collins of Chapmanville; Mark Corns of Whitman; Tony Costa of Warfield, Ky.; Derek “The Butcher” Dingess of Chapmanville; Joseph “Ice Man” Eads of St. Albans; Gary “Jar Head” Evans of Delbarton; Jonathan “Big John” Graham of Matheny; Cody Hager of Logan; Harley Harless of Tomahawk, Ky.; Michael Jarvis of Naugatuck; Josh Jeffrey of Logan; Kyle “The Real Deal” Linley of Tomahawk, Ky.; Kevin Litton of McDowell; Gary Miller of Lyburn; Billy Sheppard of Delbarton; Mikey “Iron Mike” Sparks of Dingess; Jared Steiner of Elk View; Marcus Sullivan of Dunbar; Christopher “Dr. Death” White of St. Albans; Nick Ulbrich of Danville; Brandon Workman of Bruno; and Charlie “Jar Head” Young of Chapmanville.

Nineteen have signed on to fight in the men’s light heavyweight division (160-184 pounds). Those are: Timothy Cline of Warfield, Ky.; William Bradashur of parts unknown; Joe “Iceman” Clemens of Mount Gay; Doug Ferrell of Hewitt; Wally Ferrell of Breeden; Leonard Hall of Dingess; William Jason “The Ghost” Hames of Chapmanville; Matt “The Hitman” Hizer of Foster; Michael “The Convict” Hunter of Accoville; Billy Jessup of Logan; Matthew “The Demon” Kordusky of Charleston; Bobby Laws of Lyburn; Micah Mahon of McCarr, Ky.; Michael McKinney of Minnie, Ky.; Ben “Devil Dog” McNeely of Lyburn; Nicholas Moore of Minnie, Ky.; Skyler Seager of Dingess; Lawrence Tudor of Alkol; and Daniel Williams of Delbarton.

Twenty-one have also signed to box in the men’s middleweight division (140-159 pounds). Those are: Mason “The Convict” Adams of Minnie, Ky.; Chris “Country Boy” Austin of Holden; Josh “Bad Wamma Jamma” Blair of Lyburn; Jacob “The Drunk” Chapman of Accoville; Christopher “Ghost” Clay of Logan; Michael “Pretty Boy” Coleman of Delbarton; Trent “Celtic Warrior” Cooper of Pikeville, Ky.; Winifred Green of Danville; Franklin Hall of Dingess; William Hauserman of Chapmanville; Daniel “The Clown” Kozee of Williamson; Jim “Lil Bones” Nelson of Bruno; Raheem “The Dream” Norman of Logan; Justin Pennington of Kenova; Thomas Riley of Lorado; Rocky Sheppard of Dingess; Timothy Starr of Chapmanville; Ricky Vinson of Gilbert; Austin “Hard Head” Walker of Man; and Kevin Whitt of Man.

A total of nine have inked to fight in the men’s lightweight division (up to 139 pounds). Those are: Mark “Dynamite” Adkins of Paintsville, Ky.; Caleb Alford of Griffithsville; Chad Bradford of Logan; Josh Evans of Pecks Mill; Brandon Frye of Logan; Randy Hall of Mount Gay; Preston “The Fighting Game Cock” Harkless of Seth; Chris Robinson of Henlawson; and Joey Sparks of Dingess.

Seven women have also signed up to box. They are: Renee Mahan of Paintsville, Ky.; Sabrina “Beanie” Lambert of Chapmanville; Deyawna Baisden of Verdunville; Kayla “Fearless” Hughes of Danville; Amy Comer of Cedar Grove; Chelsey Keathley of Willow Wood; and Amanda Kordusky of South Charleston.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com