Last updated: July 17. 2013 1:20PM - 1043 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Rachel Dove-Baldwin

Staff Writer

WILLIAMSON - Although Mingo County voters chose a Republican candidate for President with Mitt Romney receiving 69.88 over President Barack Obama’s 27.45 percent, the Democratic Party stood strong for their House of Delegate District 20 Representative Justin Marcum and 21st District Incumbent Harry Keith White, as they easily claimed the victory over Republican challengers Mike Baisden (20th) and Roger Stacy (21st).

In the 20th District, Justin Marcum had been appointed to serve the remainder of the legislative term vacated by former Delegate Steve Kominar, who accepted the Mingo County Redevelopment Authority’s Executive Director’s position following the death of Mike Whitt. Marcum was successful in the May Primary Election, as was Mike Baisden on the Republican ticket, and the two men squared off this evening, vying for the coveted delegate seat. Marcum received a total of 3,574 votes in Mingo County after all the precincts were in and counted, and Baisden garnered 1,643.

“Once again, I want to say that I’m so very proud to serve the residents of the 20th District,” stated Marcum. “I’m humbled at the number of you that put your faith in me and trusted me to represent your interests in Charleston.”

“We have made a lot of progress, but we still have a lot of work to do.”

Marcum remarked that he was thrilled with the outpouring of supporters who stopped by his law office on 2nd Avenue in Williamson to express their congratulations on his successful win, as they gathered to watch the televised election results.

“You can search the world over and not find people anywhere that can come close to comparing to those in the 20th District. I’m truly blessed to have this opportunity to serve you and your needs.”

In the 21st District, House of Delegate/Finance Chairman Harry Keith White coasted to an easy victory over Roger Stacy, a native of McDowell County, receiving 2,658 votes to his challengers 619 while Stacy carried McDowell with a 459 to 422 total. In Wyoming County, White was victorious with 718 votes over Stacy’s 354, retaining the seat he has held for several terms. Delegates White and Marcum have established a solid working relationship with one another and feel that working together as a team, they can accomplish great things for the citizens who reside in their districts.

“I want to thank everyone who got out to vote and who supported me in this election,” stated White. “This has been a hard-fought campaign. The number of residents who exercised their right to vote is one of the largest turnouts I have personally witnessed.”

“As your Finance Chairman, I will be working hand in hand with Governor Earl Ray Tomblin on the 2013 budget plan, and he has already called for cuts largely due to the fact that our coal severance taxes has dropped, creating a revenue decrease in our state. We will be carefully reviewing our budget to see where cuts can be managed that will have the least adverse effect on the residents of WV.”

“Thank you once again to everyone who elected me one more time as your House of Delegate Representative. I promise to serve you to the best of my ability.”

In the 6th Senatorial District race, Incumbent Democrat Mark Wills lost to Republican Bill Cole by a total of 18,307 to 15,978 votes. Cole received 53 percent of the vote with Wills following for a close second place finish with 47 percent.

On the county level, all Mingo races had been decided in the Primary election, but the voters were still faithful to their candidate choices. In the County Commission race, Incumbent David Baisden received 6,752 votes; Prosecuting Attorney C. Michael Sparks had 6,615 voters support him; Sheriff-Elect Eugene Crum received a total of 6,797 votes; Assessor Ramona Mahon garnered 6,735 votes; and the Magistrates race concluded with Pam Newsome in first place with 5,614 votes, Chief Magistrate Dallas Toler following with 5,370 and Dee Sidebottom finishing third with 5,363.

The candidates who succeeded in winning the election will take office after the first of January, 2013.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com