Last updated: July 17. 2013 1:23PM - 233 Views
Regional champs

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Chad Abshire

Staff Writer

CHARLESTON —The state of emergency that West Virginia had been under since Oct. 29 due to severe weather was recently lifted by Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin.

“After I surveyed the damage left behind from the winter storm and Hurricane Sandy firsthand, I knew our hardest hit communities would need additional time and assistance to restore everyday life,” Tomblin said. “That’s why… nearly a month after high winds, large amounts of snowfall and fallen trees impacted the entire state, I continue to direct state and federal resources at my disposal to assist the most devastated areas with their recovery efforts.”

Tomblin toured Mingo County along with U.S. Sen. Joe Manchin and U.S. Rep. Nick Rahall in early November to assess storm damage.

The declaration extends the state of emergency in the following 22 counties until Dec. 21, 2012: Barbour, Boone, Braxton, Clay, Fayette, Grant, Greenbrier, Kanawha, Lewis, Marshall, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Preston, Raleigh, Randolph, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Upshur, Webster and Wyoming. These counties will continue to receive state and federal help with debris removal and other needs.

The declaration rescinds the state of emergency previously issued for the following 33 counties: Mingo, Berkeley, Brooke, Cabell, Calhoun, Doddridge, Gilmer, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mineral, Monongalia, Monroe, Morgan, Ohio, Pleasants, Putnam, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Wayne, Wetzel, Wirt, and Wood.

“Other areas of the state have begun to return to life as normal and are now self-sustaining. It is my goal to restore everyday life to the entire state no later than Dec. 21.”

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com