Last updated: July 17. 2013 1:25PM - 351 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Kyle Lovern

Sports Editor

The Belfry Pirates placed eight players on the Region IV, All District 8 team.

The Pirates, who finished as Class 3A runner-up again this season, also saw senior Tony Messer and junior Justin Johnson selected as Co-Players of the Year.

To top it off head coach Philip Haywood was selected as Coach of the Year.

Payton Mullins, Madison Ghormley, Derek Jude, Zack Taylor, Zack Thacker, Sani Warren, Josh Robinson and Trinity Carr were selected to the All-district squad.

Mullins and Ghormley were the leading tacklers for Belfry’s stingy defense this past season. The two helped stop some of the region’s top offenses this season.

Messer played on both side of the ball as a tight end on offense and defensive end on defense. Johnson was one of the area’s leading scorers and ground gainers until having to sit out several games with an injury.

Warren, Robinson and Carr were a part of Belfry’s powerful running game. Both Warren and Robinson also played in the Pirate defensive backfield. Robinson also returned punts and kickoffs for BHS.

Jude, Taylor and Thacker were three of the huge linemen that dominated opponents this past season.

Several other players from Pike Central, Lawrence County, Sheldon Clark and East Ridge were named to the team.

Belfry also had several players named to the honorable mention list. They included Hayden Hatfield, Michael Barnes, Joey Duty, Eli Huddle, James May and Austin Hatfield.

The team is voted on by coaches from the Class AAA district teams. It was released earlier this week.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com