Last updated: July 17. 2013 1:25PM - 547 Views
Ralph B. Davis
Heartland News Service

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Kyle Lovern

Sports Editor

Mingo Central senior Joe May has made first team Class AA All-State squad which was released today by members of the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

May was placed on the defensive team, but anyone who has watched the Miners knows that May was the man on the offensive side of the football for coach Yogi Kinder and his staff.

Senior lineman Garth Simpkins was placed on the special mention list, while junior lineman Drew Kirk and junior split end Alex Lee were on the honorable mention list.

May, one of the captains for the Miners, had 49 tackles and four interceptions. On offense he rolled up big all-purpose yardage and scored 20 touchdowns this season. He was one of the state’s top scorers this year. The speedy May was a threat anytime he touched the football. He was asked to run the ball, catch the ball and run back kickoffs.

Several players from the region and in the Cardinal Conference, including state champion Wayne, made the first or second team or were listed on the honorable mention lists.

The Wayne Pioneers have four players that earned first-team honors on the Class AA All-State football team, including running back Brandon Spurlock, the top overall vote recipient in Class AA. Voting is done by the writers and coaches.

Spurlock is the captain of the first-team offense. He is joined by teammates Grant Ferguson at quarterback, Anthony Bryant on the offensive line and Mason Hodge at linebacker. Spurlock and Bryant are seniors. Ferguson and Hodge are sophomores.

the Pioneers finished with a perfect 14-0 record and a second straight AA state title. Wayne also extended the state’s longest winning streak to 23 games.

The Class AA All-State teams are listed below:

Class AA

First Team


QB - Grant Ferguson, Wayne, 6-foot-2, 170 pounds, so.

RB - Brett Hathaway, Bridgeport, 5-10, 180, sr.

RB - Montell Leggett, Bluefield, 5-7, 185, jr.

RB - Brandon Spurlock, Wayne, 5-7, 180, sr. (Captain)

OL - Dakota Ball, Scott, 6-3, 280, sr.

OL - Anthony Bryant, Wayne, 6-1, 275, sr.

OL - Sam Hall, Ritchie County, 6-4, 285, sr.

OL - Wyatt Lucas, Braxton County, 6-1, 270, sr.

OL - Drew Roy, Keyser, 6-1, 255, jr.

WR - Thane Cutter, Frankfort, 6-1, 170, sr.

WR - Iziah Hill, Robert C. Byrd, 6-1, 160, sr.

Utility - Hunter Bradley, Roane County, 6-3, 165, jr.

K - Scott Levine, Robert C. Byrd, 6-0, 185, sr.


DL - Preston Murray, Oak Glen, 6-1, 255, sr.

DL - Brandon Thomas, River View, 6-3, 205, sr.

DL - Teague Wagner, Robert C. Byrd, 6-3, 280, sr.

LB - Danny Fife, Keyser, 5-9, 220, jr.

LB - Jermodd Garrett, Robert C. Byrd, 6-1, 195, sr. (Captain)

LB - Mason Hodge, Wayne, 6-0, 230, so.

LB - Cameron Stanley, Bridgeport, 5-11, 195, sr.

LB - Brad Titus, Ravenswood, 6-0, 221, sr.

DB - D.J. Edwards, Bluefield, 6-1, 195, jr.

DB - Joe May, Mingo Central, 5-9, 170, sr.

DB - Ty Noss, Liberty (Harrison), 6-0, 160, sr.

Utility - Jacob Yanero, Braxton County, 5-10, 185, sr.

P - Tyler Schiefelbein, Philip Barbour, 6-4, 170, sr.

Second Team


QB - Gage Shaffer, Frankfort, 6-5, 180, so.

RB - Blake Ravenscroft, Keyser, 5-9, 145, jr. (Captain)

RB - Trent Stowers, Sissonville, 6-2, 210, sr.

RB - Jacob Summe, Wyoming East, 6-0, 175, jr.

OL - Yosef Finton, Wayne, 6-6, 235, sr.

OL - Isaiah Holyfield, Robert C. Byrd, 5-11, 270, sr.

OL - Caleb Linville, Scott, 5-10, 265, sr.

OL - Harold Messenger, Independence, 5-8, 257, sr.

OL - Zachary White, Clay County, 6-2, 280, jr.

WR - Tyler King, Roane County, 6-2, 185, jr.

WR - Ty Seibel, Lincoln, 5-10, 155, jr.

Utility - Ben D’Annunzio, Robert C. Byrd, 6-0, 185, so.

K - Justin Mariotti, Bluefield, 5-11, 187, sr.


DL - Daren Baldwin, Weir, 6-1, 225, sr.

DL - Dwight Blankenship, Wayne, 6-0, 230, sr.

DL - Josh Coffman, Keyser, 5-10, 190, sr.

DL - Austin Hill, Nicholas County, 6-1, 180, jr.

DL - Andrew Summers, Fairmont Senior, 6-3, 270, jr.

LB - John Ash, Roane County, 6-0, 175, sr.

LB - Bryce Powell, Ritchie County, 5-10, 205, sr.

LB - Nathan Spurlock, Wayne, 5-8, 180, jr.

DB - Isaiah Brown, Summers County, 5-9, 160, jr.

DB - Johnny David, Bluefield, 5-11, 170, sr. (Captain)

DB - Nick Elswick, Westside, 5-10, 150, sr.

DB - Dillon Newman, Philip Barbour, 5-11, 160, jr.

P - Troy Anderson, Bridgeport, 5-11, 200, sr.

Special mention

Chase Banker, North Marion; Robert Bias, Scott; A.C. Caldera, Bridgeport; Chris Cecil, Wyoming East; Justin Cogar, Westside; Dustin Conley, Chapmanville; Corey Coppola, Bluefield; Cullin Cutright, Bridgeport; Vincent Delligatti, Fairmont Senior; James Egnor, Wayne; Shadeed Fitzgerald, Bluefield; Clayton Flowers, Oak Glen; Ricky Harmon, Braxton County; Ryan Helmick, Grafton; Jesse Hilvers, Ritchie County; Luke Hrapchak, East Fairmont; Jarrod Kellar, Lincoln; Joey Lacek, Liberty (Raleigh); William Larch, Weir; Cameron Loftus, Scott; Wil Mayes,Nicholas County; Nathan Miller, Sissonville; Jimmy Pumphrey, Liberty (Harrison);Austin Ravenscroft, Keyser; Dakota Robertson, Tolsia; Garth Simpkins, Mingo Central; T.J. Smith, Summers County; Aaron Tolliver, Independence; E.T. Weiss,James Monroe; Jordan Wilson, River View.

Honorable mention

Tyler Blankenship, River View; Logan Bowman, East Fairmont; Jimmy Brogan, Clay County; Maurice Brown, Mount View; Zack Cassidy, Wayne; Cody Clendenin, Poca;Joe Collins, Webster County; Mason Compton, Robert C. Byrd; Tre Cox, Robert C.Byrd; Devon Crews, Ravenswood; Tryston Crone, Scott; Zach Damron, Wayne; ShaunDotson, Herbert Hoover; Hunter Given, Webster County; Bub Haddox, Oak Glen;Christian Hedinger, Wyoming East; Preston Hovermale, Berkeley Springs; Rhys Jelich, Ravenswood; Al Johnson, Philip Barbour; Drew Kirk, Mingo Central; Alex Lee, Mingo Central; Alex Lipscomb, Ritchie County; T.T. Loudin, Poca; Tyler Marks, Bridgeport; Danny Miller, Bluefield; Davey Moore, Liberty (Harrison);Damian Morgan, Frankfort; Hunter Moses, PikeView; Jarrett Mowrer, Sissonville;Mike Mullens, Westside; Dustyn Murphy, Nicholas County; Tyler Myers, Bluefield;Wes Nelson, Keyser; Dillon O’Dell, Lincoln; Eric Piatt, Weir; Dawson Presley,Tolsia; Christian Smith, Keyser; Dustin Smith, Chapmanville; Frankie Steiner,Braxton County; Brandon White, Chapmanville.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com