Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:27PM - 362 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

SITKA - Continuing to bulk up its schedule for the 2013 season, 201 Speedway will host another racing series during the upcoming campaign. The American Modified Series will visit 201 Speedway for a feature event on July 20.

Founded in 2010, the American Modified Series is an organization that promotes and sanctions races in the Dirt Open Wheel Modified division. The group has sanctioned events in Kentucky, Tennessee, Illinois, Indiana and Ohio.

The American Modified Series sanctions its events under the governing banner of the UMP DirtCar organization, with drivers eligible to earn points toward an AMS series title and also earn national points toward the overall UMP DirtCar Modified national championship.

During the 2012 season, the AMS visited tracks in Kentucky, Tennessee, Ohio and Illinois and featured multiple race winners. The 191 Speedway, located in Wolfe County, hosted a pair of American Modified Series races in September. During the 2012 season, drivers Brian Shaw, Keith Smith, Trent Young, Joey Kramer, Devin Gilpin, Don Adams and Rick Aukland all visited victory lane in the challenging American Modified Series.

Young is the reigning American Modified Series champion. He won a pair of feature races in the 2012 season. Young drove to AMS wins at Wartburg Speedway and Tazewell Speedway, both of which are located in Tennessee.

In late-2012, 201 Speedway announced that it would host the Spring Nationals Series for a $4,000-to-win race on April 18. The Johnson County track resumed hosting races in the fall of 2012.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com