Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:29PM - 320 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

January is Kentucky’s 18th annual observation of School Board Recognition Month. On behalf of the students and staff of Floyd County Schools, Supt. Henry Webb offered thanks to the members of the Floyd County Board of Education for their exceptional service to the students, staff and community members of Floyd County.

“We’re fortunate to have a board team that follows our motto, ‘It’s All About Kids,’” Webb said. “Our board members continually strive to learn more about a multitude of topics, such as assessment, analyzing data, budgets and our new accountability system, and they put in many hours to accomplish these tasks. Our team is committed to and passionate about making our district one of the top districts in the state.”

Jeff Stumbo, Linda Gearheart, Dr. Chandra Varia, Rhonda Meade and Sherry Robinson are among the 872 school board members being recognized this month by 174 school districts in Kentucky,

“Our board team considers all aspects of our system, and that’s a great thing for kids,” Webb said. “They have high expectations for our students and staff and play a key role in making sure that things are in place so that our students can reach proficiency and be college and career ready. Our board team knows that we have the best kids in the state and wants them to experience the highest levels of learning, have the best attendance, have the best possible facilities and basically have a district of excellence that the kids of Floyd County deserve.

“I’m proud to work with this team and I hope you’ll join me, our staff and our students in thanking our board members for the important work they are doing for the kids of Floyd County.”

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com