Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:32PM - 163 Views
Ralph B. Davis

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

LEXINGTON – The deadline has been extended until Feb. 15 for applications to the Robinson Leaders Program.

To be eligible for the program, applicants must be in the freshman year of high school, reside in one of the 29 eastern Kentucky counties in the Robinson Scholars Program service area, and be a first generation student with an interest in obtaining a 4-year college degree. First generation students are those whose parents do not hold 4-year college degrees.

Those selected to be Robinson Leaders are eligible to participate in enrichment activities and summer camps provided by the Robinson Scholars Program, and they will be eligible to apply for the Robinson Scholarship, which is a full scholarship to the University of Kentucky.

The Robinson Leaders Program seeks current high school freshmen who demonstrate academic talent, participate in community service, and are involved in extra-curricular activities either in their schools or communities. A total of 87 Robinson Leaders will be chosen from the 29-county service region of the Robinson Scholars Program for the 2013 cohort. Of the 87 Leaders chosen, 29 students (one from each county) will be awarded a Robinson Scholarship. That award will be made during the student’s junior year of high school.

Applications can be made online through the Robinson Scholars Program Web site at http://www.uky.edu/RobinsonScholars. Follow the link to the Robinson Leaders Application. Application instructions are provided. Students who do not have computer access may obtain a paper copy of the application and application instructions from their high school guidance counselors.

First generation students in the following eastern Kentucky counties are eligible to participate in the program: Bell, Breathitt, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rockcastle, Whitley and Wolfe.

For more information about Robinson Leaders, the Robinson Scholars Program, or the application process, visit the Robinson Scholars Web site or contact Jessica Watkins at 606-666-2438, extension 232, or Jeff Spradling at 859-257-5230.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com