Last updated: July 18. 2013 11:25PM - 216 Views
Tony McGuire
Sports Editor

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Tthe 14th annual Soap Box Derby was held Saturday on Memorial Drive in Hazard. The winners of each year’s event (Stock and Super Stock) advance to the Nationals in Akron, Ohio.

This year’s derby saw the number of drivers decline significantly, but the competition was still at a fever’s pitch. After 44 individual heats, the winners were named in each division. Haley Ritchie advanced in the Super Stock division, while Taylen Hylton took the Stock division.


Heat 1: Laikyn Logan defeated Bailey Asher

Heat 2: Keenan Deaton defeated Aiden Carress

Heat 3: Paige Hicks defeated Cortney Clemons

Heat 4: Myra Jo Davis defeated Dylan Caudill

Heat 5: Taylen Hylton defeated Laikyn Logan

Heat 6: Taylor Callahan defeated Keenan Deaton

Heat 7: Sarah Campbell defeated Cortney Clemons

Heat 8: Garrett Nantaz defeated Myra Jo Davis

Heat 9: Aiden Carress defeated Bailey Asher

Heat 10: Keenan Deaton defeated Laikyn Logan

Heat 11: Dylan Caudill defeated Paige Hicks

Heat 12: Myra Jo Davis defeated Cortney Clemons

Heat 13: Aiden Carress defeated Keenan Deaton

Heat 14: Myra Jo Davis defeated Dylan Caudill

Heat 15: Taylen Hylton defeated Taylor Callahan

Heat 16: Garrett Nantaz defeated Sarah Campbell

Heat 17: Sarah Campbell defeated Aiden Carress

Heat 18: Taylor Callahan defeated Myra Jo Davis

Heat 19: Taylor Callahan defeated Sarah Campbell

Heat 20: Taylen Hylton defeated Garrett Nantaz

Heat 21: Garrett Nantz defeated Taylor Callahan

Heat 22: Taylen Hylton defeated Garrett Nantz

Super Stock

Heat 1: Ian Brashear defeated Jordan Caudill

Heat 2: Kassandra Smith defeated Kennedy Arnett

Heat 3: Hallie Jo Kilburn defeated McCall Davis

Heat 4: Ben Melton defeated Preston Adams

Heat 5: Haley Ritchie defeated Ian Brashear

Heat 6: Kassandra Smith defeated Jody Caudill

Heat 7: Hallie Jo Kilburn defeated Alexa Saiakiawicz

Heat 8: Ben Melton defeated Kevin Hurt

Heat 9: Kennedy Arnett defeated Jordan Caudill

Heat 10: Ian Brashear defeated Jody Caudill

Heat 11: McCall Davis defeated Preston Adams

Heat 12: Kevin Hurt defeated Alexa Saiakiawicz

Heat 13: Kennedy Arnett defeated Ian Brashear

Heat 14: McCall Davis defeated Kevin Hurt

Heat 15: Haley Ritchie defeated Kassandra Smith

Heat 16: Ben Melton defeated Hallie Jo Kilburn

Heat 17: Kennedy Arnett defeated Hallie Jo Kilburn

Heat 18: Kassandra Smith defeated McCall Davis

Heat 19: Kassandra Smith defeated Kennedy Arnett

Heat 20: Haley Ritchie defeated Ben Melton

Heat 21: Kassandra Smith defeated Ben Melton

Heat 22: Haley Ritchie defeated Kassandra Smith

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com