Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:44PM - 380 Views
Times Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

BARDSTOWN - Cumberlands produced the low round of the day en route to the Mid-South Conference Championships title Tuesday at Bardstown Country Club at Maywood.

The Patriots shot 294 on Tuesday to extend its lead and win by four strokes over second-place Lindsey Wilson. Cumberlands ended the three-day tournament with a team-total 882 (297-291-294). Lindsey Wilson posted an 886 (293-297-296).

Campbellsville’s Scott Foster led wire-to-wire on his way to medalist honors. Foster carded a 213 (71-68-74) to win by two strokes over Lindsey Wilson’s Nathan Clark - who shot 215 (72-73-70).

Cumberlands earns the Mid-South’s automatic team bid into next month’s national tournament while Foster punched his ticket to nationals as an individual winner of the championships.

Foster’s finish helped the Tigers to third with a team-total 907 (307-290-310).

Cumberland ends in fourth at 914 (304-312-298) while Georgetown claimed fifth with a 936 (318-315-303). UVa-Wise’s 942 (316-320-306) is sixth followed by Shawnee State’s 949 (311-306-332), Pikeville’s 953 (309-323-321) and St. Catharine’s 985 (342-318-325). Bluefield had two withdraw from the tournament disqualifying the Rams from the team championship.

Following the tournament, conference officials handed out the all-conference honors.

The all-conference team is based on play during the three conference tournaments - including the two regular season tournaments - during the 2012-13 season.

Campbellsville’s Trey Shirley earned MSC Player of the Year honors after posting the lowest combined score - minus the two highest rounds - from the three tournaments. Cumberlands’ Isac Lambertsson is the MSC Freshman of the Year.

Shirley was joined on the all-conference team by Foster, Clark, Cumberland’s Austin Garrett and Cumberlands’ Alastair Tidcombe, Matt Walton and Hugo Alvarez Asorey.

Lambertsson and teammate Niclas Rigbrandt, Lindsey Wilson’s Daron Morris, Cumberland’s Ryan Botts and Peyton Broyles and Shawnee State’s Nick Saunders were named honorable mention all-conference for having the next six best combined scores.

Chris Kraftick was selected by his peers as the Mid-South Men’s Golf Coach of the Year after leading the Patriots to the regular season and tournament titles.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com