Last updated: July 17. 2013 1:42PM - 827 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Rachel Baldwin

Staff Writer

PIKEVILLE, Ky. — The annual Big Sandy Company, L.P. Scholarships were awarded to students from the Pikeville Independent and Pike County School Systems at an awards dinner held Tuesday May 7, at the Landmark Inn.

Since 1994, the Big Sandy Company, L.P. which leases mineral properties to the coal industry, has awarded $664,000 in scholarships to area youth to assist with expenses of college or technical school. These scholarships are awarded in $6,000 blocks to each high school. The scholarships are awarded to students in each high school by an independent panel of educators contracted by Big Sandy.

“Twenty-one students received scholarships from the six schools. Besides being excellent students, many have jobs and their volunteer work in the communities and other activities are just outstanding,” said Bruce Batten, Vice President/Lease Administration. “We hope after their college education is complete, they will return to make Pike County a better place for all of us.”

Mr. Dylan Murphy, a 2007 Big Sandy Scholarship recipient from Pikeville High School and who is also a 2011 University of Kentucky graduate that will be entering his second year of medical school at UPIKE’S Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine, served as the guest speaker for the event.

Students receiving scholarships were (pictured left to right); front row: Trenton Tackett, Keisha Mitchell, Tierra Folsom, Maleena Little, Grace Baldwin and Rachel Yates. Back row: Lincoln Johnson, Dalton Tackett, Conner Pack, Austin Priode, Dalton Daniels, Steven Clark, Jerred Workman, Mercedes Potter, Chelsey Potter, Teena Rowe, Alyson Tackett, Corey Stump and Kennedy Hager. Not pictured were Tate Compton and Nathan Terry.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com