Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:50PM - 260 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Floyd County Chamber of Commerce recently recognized and honored graduates of the 2012-13 Leadership Floyd County Academy.

The Leadership program is an educational opportunity designed to promote and develop business and community leaders. The primary goal is to prepare the participants to take an active role in building a communications network to advance the county and encourage innovative ideas. Leadership graduates bring a fresh and informed perspective back to their community and their employer which helps shape the future of Floyd County.

Through a series of sessions, participants were educated about Floyd County. The group met and talked with current leaders and explored the county’s needs, opportunities, challenges and resources. The curriculum focused on education, health care, economic development, environmental issues, government, and tourism. In addition, co-coordinator Leslie Fossitt conducted a thought provoking session focused on the attributes of leadership and what it means to be a leader. Each session was held at a different venue and by visiting various parts of the county the participants developed an enhanced view of Floyd County.

The co-coordinators for the class were Leslie Fossitt, Big Sandy Community & Technical College; Sabrina Hicks, McDowell ARH; and Dakota Maynard, First Commonwealth Bank. Local businesses hosting the sessions included the Carl D. Perkins Job Corps, Wayland Historical Society, McDowell ARH, Mountain Arts Center, and the East Kentucky Science Center & Planetarium.

The graduating participants for the 2012-13 class were Nina Hamilton, Citizens National Bank; Patsy Jackson, Big Sandy Community & Technical College; Josh Johnson, Highlands Health System; Dawn Lowe, East Kentucky Network/Appalachian Wireless; Allison Peppi, McDowell ARH; Elaina Stamper, First Commonwealth Bank; Patricia C. Watson, Floyd County Board of Education; and Virginia Williamson, Big Sandy Community & Technical College.

The Floyd County Chamber of Commerce will be accepting applications for the 2013-14 Leadership class in August. For additional information, please contact the Chamber office at (606) 886-0364 or floydchamber@setel.com.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com