Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:50PM - 330 Views
Times Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

PIKEVILLE – The University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine recently held its annual graduation banquet honoring graduates and faculty members.

Alice Ann Higdon, D.O, of Fancy Farm, received the Dean’s Award and was named Student D.O. of the Year. The Dean’s Award is presented to the student whose leadership, humanity and loyalty to the profession exemplify the ideals, mission and goals of KYCOM. The Student D.O. of the Year award is presented by the Council of Student Government Presidents to the student who best exemplifies the ideal qualities of an osteopathic medical student. The award is based on service to the school, the community and osteopathic medicine. Clifford William Bowers, III, D.O., of Augusta, Ga., received the John A. Strosnider, D.O. Memorial Scholarship Award. The award recognizes a KYCOM graduate who exemplifies Dr. Strosnider’s commitment to family medicine and his love and dedication to osteopathic medicine and the osteopathic profession. Joshua Dean Watts, D.O., of Hazard, received the James E. Campbell, D.O., Award. The award is presented by the James E. Campbell Education Fund to a deserving KYCOM graduate from the Appalachian region of Kentucky. Jennifer Lynn Dotson, D.O., of Ransom, received the Stephen M. Payson, M.S., Memorial Scholarship Award, presented to a KYCOM graduate from the Appalachian region who exemplifies Payson’s commitment to the mission of the medical school and the promotion of the osteopathic profession. The awards were presented by Boyd R. Buser, D.O., FACOFP, vice president for health affairs and dean, KYCOM.

Anna Ellen Louise Johnson, D.O., of Turkey Creek, received the Board of Trustees Award and the Muniramiah Krishnamurthy, M.D. Award. The Board of Trustees Award is presented for academic excellence to the student earning the highest grade point average during the first two years of medical school and was presented by Terry Dotson, chairman of the University of Pikeville Board of Trustees. The Muniramiah Krishnamurthy, M.D. Award is presented for excellence in internal medicine and was presented by Ambika Krishnamurthy, D.O., assistant professor of osteopathic principles and practice and M.J. Indiramma, B.Sc., B.Ed., retired biology teacher, Bangalore, India.

Joshua Timothy Minix, D.O., of Salyersville, received the President’s Award. The President’s Award is presented to the student who has demonstrated clinical excellence, earning the highest average score on clinical rotations and was presented by University of Pikeville President Paul Patton.

Ashley Faye Clevenger, D.O., of Ashland, received the Mr. Dharam Pal Kashyap Award presented for excellence in pediatrics. The award was presented by Rakesh Sachdeva, M.D., chair, division of pediatrics at KYCOM.

Jeremy Paul Jackson, D.O., of Washington Court House, Ohio, received the Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award. The award was sponsored by the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine and awarded for excellence in emergency medicine. The award was presented by William T. Betz, D.O., M.B.A., FACOFP, dist., senior associate dean for osteopathic medical education at KYCOM.

Brad Richard Kelly, D.O., of Georgetown, and Alisha Ann Rust, D.O., of Cold Spring, received The Doctors Foundation Award for Family Medicine Residents. The awards are presented by the Doctors Foundation of Greater Cincinnati, Ohio, to students committed to living in Greater Cincinnati during residency and who exhibit excellence in academics, vision for family medicine and service to community.

Beth Kaufman, of Louisville, received the Donna Jones Moritsugu Award. The honor recognizes the spouse of a graduating student who best exemplifies the role of a professional’s partner who is supportive of mate, family and profession. Kaufman’s husband, Clinton Joseph Kaufman, D.O., is a member of the KYCOM class of 2013.

Damian Lee Cole, D.O., of Isom, Cecil Todd Hollen. D.O., of Manchester, John Thomas Manire, D.O., of Hopkinsville, Natasha Rozelle Phillips, D.O., of Carthage, Miss., and Richard Kyle Wheeling, D.O., of Elizabethtown received the Ram’s Head Award. The awards were presented by Laura Griffin, D.O., FAAO, associate professor of Osteopathic Principles and Practice and chair of the department of OPP, for the Fellowship Program in recognition of outstanding achievements in Osteopathic Principles and Practice.

Fadi Al Akhrass, M.D., of Pikeville, Matthew W. Cusano, M.D., of Norton, Va., and Timothy A. Jones, M.D., of Ashland, received Clinical Excellence in Medical Education Awards. Nominated by students, the awards were presented to physicians who served as outstanding role models, provided excellent clinical education and demonstrated professionalism in the art and science of medicine.

Sree Suryadevara, M.D., of Hazard, received the Clinical Medical Educator of the Year Award. The award is presented to the clinical preceptor who has served with distinction in and dedication to medical education for the students of KYCOM.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com