Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:54PM - 507 Views
Jack Latta

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

FRANKFORT — Though election season may be nearly a year away, candidates who are planning to run in next year’s primary are already making the intentions known.

Candidates who plan to run in the 2014 election cycle can not officially file for candidacy until Nov. 6. However, candidates who plan to raise money can make their intentions known by filing with the Kentucky Registry of Election Finance.

So far, nine candidates who plan to seek office in Floyd County have filed papers with the finance office. Those candidates include:

• Keith Akers, magistrate, District 1

• David Gearheart, magistrate, District 1

• Warren Jarrell, magistrate, District 3

• Steve Little, sheriff

• Cheyenne McKinney, jailer,

• Lowell Sammons, jailer

• Michael Pennington, county judge-executive

• Greg Stumbo, 95th District state representative

• Hubert Collins, 97th District state representative

• Bobby McCool, 97th District state representative

David Gearheart, current Prestonsburg city councilman and candidate for Magistrate district 1 issued a statement saying, “After being elected to two terms on the Prestonsburg City Council, I have decided to try and expand my area of public service by becoming a candidate for Magistrate of District One in the 2014 Election. I always strive to meet the needs of the people that I serve, and would love the opportunity to help bring positive change and progress to Floyd County. Safe roadways, updated public parks, and clean communities are just a few things that should be an everyday way of life and not a privilege. If elected, I will make every effort to see that the people of District 1 and all of Floyd County have a positive place to live.”

Cheyenne McKinney was appointed to the position of jailer in May, following the retirement of former Jailer Roger Webb.

Candidates can begin officially filing for election on Wednesday, Nov. 6. The deadline for all candidates to file their intention to run in the May primary is Jan. 28.

The May primary election will be held May 20. Polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 6 p.m., with the county board of elections to be in session all day. All absentee ballots must be received by the county clerk before 6 p.m.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com