Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:53PM - 931 Views
Times Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

EZLIABETHTOWN - The Kentucky High School Basketball Hall of Fame is set to induct its class of 2013. The induction ceremony for the class of 2013 will take place on July 20 at the State Theatre in Elizabethtown.

A look at the class of 2013 follows.

Joe Fulks (Kuttawa High School, 1940): Fulks helped modernize the game’s style of play with his skill and finesse more than any player before him. His refinement of the one-handed shot into a jump shot gave him legendary status. He played at Kuttawa his senior year, when he led the Lions to the Sweet 16. He later became a star at Murray State and in the NBA, where he scored 63 points in a game.

Howard Crittenden (Cuba High School, 1952): Crittenden was a crowd-pleaser at the 1951 and ’52 state tournaments. Named All-Tournament and All-State in both seasons, he helped Cuba win the state title in 1952. He went on to play at Murray State.

Linville Puckett (Clark County High School, 1952): Puckett was the last of seven brothers who played for Clark County. He led Clark County to the 1951 state championship. He was a three-time All-State honoree. Puckett was also named to the All-Tournament teams following the 1950, ’51 and ’52 state tournaments. He played on the 1954 University of Kentucky team which finished 24-0.

Johnny Cox (Hazard High School, 1955): Cox led Hazard to the 1955 state championship, scoring 127 points in the tournament and earning All-Tournament honors. Cox was All-State and Mr. Basketball in 1955, earning a scholarship to Kentucky. He was a member of the “Fiddlin’ Five” national championship team.

Billy Ray Lickert (Lexington Lafayette, 1957): Lickert led Lafayette to the state championship in 1957, scoring 26 points in the championship game. He was named All-State in 1956 and ’57 and was named Mr. Basketball in ’57. He played with Cox at UK.

Larry Conley (Ashland High School, 1962): Conley helped Ashland win the 1961 state championship and a runner-up finish in ’62. He was All-State in 1961 and ’62 and played at Kentucky on the 1966 national championship team.

Alfred “Butch” Beard (Breckinridge County, 1965): Beard led the Fighting Bearcats to consecutive title games in 1964 and ’65, helping the team win it all in ’65. He was twice named All-State and was named Mr. Basketball in 1965. He played at the University of Louisville alongside Wes Unseld. He was a highly successful NBA player and coach.

Mike Casey (Shelby County, 1966): Casey was a high school All-American in 1966, when he led the Rockets to the state title and was named Mr. Basketball. He was named All-State twice and went on to star at Kentucky.

Donna Murphy (Newport, 1976): Murphy’s fluid motion, leaping ability and left-handed jump shot helped propel the popularity of girls’ basketball in its early days. Murphy was selected the Most Valuable Player of the 1975 state tournament after she scored 67 points and grabbed 50 rebounds. She was the first winner of Miss Basketball in 1976 as well as the recipient of the Joe Billy Mansfield Award for academic and athletic achievement. She signed with Morehead State.

Sharon Garland (Laurel County, 1979): Garland helped Laurel County win three state championships, leading the team in scoring in all three championship games. No other player in girls’ state tournament history has ever won three state championships and led their team in scoring all three games. She was a three-time All-State selection before playing at Western Kentucky University.

Allan Houston (Louisville Ballard, 1989): Houston, who went on to play for the New York Knicks, led Ballard to the 1989 state title and was that season’s Mr. Basketball. He earned All-American honors as a senior and played at the University of Tennessee.

Jaime Walz-Richey (Fort Thomas Highlands, 1996): Walz-Richey was named Parade Magazine National Player of the Year, Gatorade Circle of Champions and Kentucky’s Miss Basketball in 1996. She holds the state scoring record (4,948 points) and played at Western Kentucky.

J.R. VanHoose (Paintsville, 1998): VanHoose was one of only a handful of players to record over 3,000 points, 2,000 rebounds and 500 blocks during his prep career. He led Paintsville to the state title in 1996 and a runner-up finish in ’98. He was named the MVP of the 1996 tourney, 1998 Mr. Basketball and 1998 Parade All-American.

Coach William Kean (Louisville Central, 1922-58): Kean is considered a pioneer of desegregation of athletics in the Bluegrass. His teams won 856 games and lost just 83. Kean won five state championships in the Kentucky Basketball League and four national titles in the National Negro High School Tournament. Kean is the grandfather of Allan Houston.

Coach Letcher Norton (Clark County/Trapp High School, 1935-62): Norton became a coaching legend over three decades. After starting his career at Trapp High, Norton led Clark County to eight regional titles, a state title in 1951 and a runner-up finish in 1960. He was named state Coach of the Year three times. Norton won 575 games.

Coach Bobby Watson (Owensboro, 1957-80): Watson was an All-State guard at Owensboro and returned to lead his alma mater to 14 regional championships and two state titles (1972, 1980) in 23 seasons. He had 537 career wins.

Coach Howard Beth (Marshall County, 1980-2010): Marshall County won 11 consecutive region titles under Beth, who led his team to three state finals appearances. He had a runner-up finish in 1981 and captured two state titles in 1982 and 1984. The 1984 team was undefeated going 34-0. His 794 wins are the most for any girls’ coach in the history of Kentucky high school basketball.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com