Last updated: July 25. 2013 1:32PM - 811 Views
By - slemaster@civitasmedia.com - 6068868506

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

HIGHLAND HEIGHTS - During Monday’s KHSAA Board of Control meeting meeting at NKU, the Board of Control directed KHSAA staff to begin work during the 2013-14 school year to prepare draft alignments for the 2015-18 playing seasons based on the current parameters for football championships. In a 2013 survey of the membership, 56.2 percent of the participating schools (118/210) voted in favor of the current four-team playoff format.

“We have given the member schools two distinct opportunities in the past three years to tell the Board if they wanted our system changed. Everyone who is a fan of the sport has a thought about playoffs, but our membership needs to drive these decisions,” said KHSAA Commissioner Julian Tackett. “Clearly in this case, 56 percent wanted our existing system of four teams advancing to the playoffs and no more than 25 percent favored either two or three teams advancing. We will take a special look at Class 1A as we continue, where responses were different, and certainly are not bound to use the same system in all classes if that’s the membership wishes.”

Details regarding the survey and its results can be found at http://khsaa.org/72313-football-playoff-survey-released-board-approves-results/

The current KHSAA football alignment follows.

Class 1A: District 1 - Fulton City, Fulton County, Mayfield, Russellville; District 2 - Bethlehem, Caverna, Holy Cross (Louisville), Kentucky Country Day; District 3 - Bracken County, Eminence, Frankfort, Paris; District 4 - Beechwood, Bellevue, Dayton, Ludlow; District 5 - Berea, Campbellsville, Lynn Camp, Williamsburg; District 6 - Harlan, Hazard, Jenkins, Pineville; District 7 - Fairview, Nicholas County, Paintsville, Raceland; District 8 - Allen Central, Phelps, Pikeville, South Floyd.

Class 2A: District 1 - Ballard Memorial, Caldwell County, Crittenden County, Murray, Reidland; District 2 - Butler County, Hancock County, McLean County, Owensboro Catholic, Todd County Central, Union County; District 3 - Clinton County, Glasgow, Green County, Metcalfe County; District 4 - Bardstown, Christian Academy-Louisville , DeSales, Fort Knox, Shawnee, Washington County; District 5 - Carroll County, Gallatin County, Owen County, Trimble County, Walton-Verona; District 6 - Bishop Brossart, Holy Cross (Covington), Lloyd Memorial, Newport, Newport Central Catholic; District 7 - Danville, Lexington Christian, Middlesboro, Somerset; District 8 - Betsy Layne, Leslie County, Prestonsburg, Shelby Valley.

Class 3A: District 1 - Fort Campbell, Heath, Paducah Tilghman, Trigg County, Webster County; District 2 - Adair County, Edmonson County, Hart County, Monroe County, South Warren; District 3 - Central, Elizabethtown, Henry County, LaRue County; District 4 - Bell County, Casey County, Corbin, McCreary Central, Wayne County; District 5 - Bath County, Bourbon County, Estill County, Garrard County, Powell County, Western Hills; District 6 - East Carter, Fleming County, Lewis County, Mason County, Russell, West Carter; District 7 - Breathitt County, Jackson County, Knott County Central, Magoffin County, Morgan County; District 8 - Belfry, East Ridge, Lawrence County, Pike County Central, Sheldon Clark.

Class 4A: District 1 - Calloway County, Hopkins County Central, Lone Oak, Madisonville-North Hopkins, Owensboro; District 2 - Allen County-Scottsville, Breckinridge County, Franklin-Simpson, Warren East; District 3 - Atherton, Collins, North Oldham, Spencer County, Waggener; District 4 - Doss, Fairdale, Moore, Valley, Western; District 5 - Boyle County, Lexington Catholic, Marion County, Mercer County, Taylor County; District 6 - Clay County, Knox Central, Rockcastle County, Russell County; District 7 - Covington Catholic, Harrison County, Highlands, Holmes, Pendleton County; District 8 - Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County.

Class 5A: District 1 - Apollo, Christian County, Graves County, Hopkinsville, Ohio County; District 2 - Barren County, Bowling Green, Greenwood, Logan County, Warren Central; District 3 - Grayson County, Iroquois, Jeffersontown, John Hardin, North Hardin; District 4 - Bullitt Central, Bullitt East, North Bullitt, Shelby County; District 5 - Conner, Cooper, Grant County, Scott, South Oldham; District 6 - Anderson County, East Jessamine, Franklin County, Montgomery County, West Jessamine, Woodford County; District 7 - Lincoln County, Madison Southern, North Laurel, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern; District 8 - Harlan County, Letcher County Central, Perry County Central, Whitley County.

Class 6A: District 1 - Daviess County, Henderson County, Marshall County, Muhlenberg County; District 2 - Central Hardin, Meade County, Nelson County; District 3 - Butler, Pleasure Ridge Park, Seneca, Southern; District 4 - DuPont Manual, Male, St. Xavier, Trinity (Louisville); District 5 - Ballard, Eastern, Fern Creek, Oldham County; District 6 - Boone County, Campbell County, Dixie Heights, Ryle, Simon Kenton; District 7 - Bryan Station, Henry Clay, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Scott County; District 8 - George Rogers Clark, Lafayette, Madison Central, Tates Creek.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com