Last updated: August 26. 2013 4:18PM - 1053 Views
By - (Unknown address)

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

FRANKFORT — The delayed effort to redraw the state’s legislative boundaries came to a rapid conclusion Friday, after Gov. Steve Beshear signed into law the new maps for the state Senate and House of Representatives. All that remains now is for three federal judges to sign off on the measure.

Under the new district lines, Eastern Kentucky will see some major changes.

Floyd County lost one of its state representatives, as House Speaker Greg Stumbo now represents the entire county, plus four precincts in Pike County. Rep. Hubert Collins, of Wittensville, lost his representation of Martin County and parts of Pike County, and was placed in a new 97th district that includes Johnson, Morgan and Wolfe counties.

Along with the new territory, Collins also inherited a potential challenger for his position, in 20-year legislative veteran John Will Stacy, of West Liberty.

Another potential inter-party battle looms in the redrawn 96th District, where Rep. Kevin Sinnette saw House Majority Floor Leader Rocky Adkins moved into his district. The 96th District now includes Lawrence and Carter counties, while Adkins’ old 99th District now contains Lewis, Rowan and Elliott counties.

On the Senate side, Sen. Johnny Ray Turner saw his 29th District continue to include Floyd, Knott and Letcher counties, but dropped Breathitt County, while picking up Harlan County.

Turner was not the only Eastern Kentucky senator to see drastic changes in his district. Sen. Ray Jones, whose 31st District previously containted Pike, Martin and Johnson counties, lost Johnson County but picked up Lawrence, Elliott and Morgan counties.

Neighboring Magoffin County, meanwhile, will bid goodbye Senate President Robert Stivers and instead pick up representation from Senate Majority Whip Brandon Smith. Stivers trimmed Morgan and Magoffin counties from his district and picked up Whitley County. Smith, who previously served Perry, Leslie, Harlan and Bell counties, said goodbye to Harlan, while gaining Breathitt, Magoffin and Johnson counties.

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com